You are here
Home > MUSIC > CONCERT REVIEWS > The Struts // Live @ Manchester Music Hall // 5.3.24

The Struts // Live @ Manchester Music Hall // 5.3.24

Article and Photos by: Linda Carlson


Lexington, KY – As clouds overtook the skies, British rockers The Struts overtook the stage on this night at Manchester Music Hall in Lexington, KY to entertain a robust crowd of ardent fans.

Formed in 2012 in Derby, Derbyshire, the band is Luke Spiller (lead vocals), Adam Slack (guitar), Jed Elliott (bass) and Gethin Davies (drums).  Their music is rock mixed with a heavy dose of glam, and infused with… fun.

The band has enjoyed an enviable rise in a genre that can struggle to find an audience.  They have performed in arenas with The Rolling Stones, Foo Fighters, The Who, and Guns ‘N Roses, as well as in local venues throughout the world for audiences ranging from the hundreds to the thousands.  Their music and performances have resonated with a wide swath of fans worldwide.

The Struts

The band’s dynamism 12 years into their run is felt throughout their live shows, full of crowd-pleasing vitality, movement and upbeat music that inspires smiles and a few dance moves.  Spiller is a gifted showman, connecting with the audience, and in this case even enjoying a mint julep as a nod to the Kentucky Derby that was set for the following day.

Adam Slack, Jed Elliott, The Struts

The setlist for the evening follows.  It featured a mix of established favorites (“Kiss This,” “Dirty Sexy Money,” “Put Your Money On Me,” “Could Have Been Me”) with newer releases (“Rockstar,” “Pretty Vicious,” “Too Good At Raising Hell”), as well as some solid covers (“Burning Love” and “Bohemian Rhapsody”).

  • Primadonna Like Me
  • Body Talks
  • Fallin’ With Me
  • Too Good at Raising Hell
  • Kiss This
  • Rockstar
  • In Love with a Camera
  • One Night Only
  • Mary Go Round
  • Dirty Sexy Money
  • Burning Love (Elvis Presley cover)
  • All Dressed Up (With Nowhere to Go)
  • Pretty Vicious
  • I Won’t Run
  • Put Your Money on Me
  • Bohemian Rhapsody (Queen cover)
  • Could Have Been Me

The Pretty Vicious Tour promotes the band’s latest album released in November 2023, with current singles “Too Good At Raising Hell” and “Rockstar.”  The band has also released two singles not yet affiliated with an album: “How Can I Love You Without (Without Breaking Your Heart)?” and “Heaven’s Got Nothing On You.”  All are available on your favorite streaming platforms.

Luke Spiller, The Struts

Opening the night was Lo Spirit, featuring enigmatic Josh Landry, who openly shares his health (mental and physical) battles through his music.  The band put on a powerful opening performance, with Landrey stating that this was his first touring gig, and that he had recently struggled with a newly diagnosed autoimmune condition.  His music reflected those life experiences.  Music can indeed be therapy.

Josh Landry, Lo Spirit

The Pretty Vicious Tour continues strong throughout the summer stateside, with many opportunities to catch a live performance through August.  Check the band’s website (link) for a show near you to experience an evening of uplifting fun.


As well, check the carousel below for more photos from the evening’s performances.

Linda Carlson
Linda has been photographing people since she was ten. Forever intrigued by the complex beauty of the human form, she brings the eye of a portraitist to the unpredictability and spectacle of the concert scene.

Leave a Reply