You are here
Home > MUSIC > ALBUM REVIEWS > Steve Lewis // Creepers & Vines Album Review

Steve Lewis // Creepers & Vines Album Review

Article by: Jason Robey

Nashville musician Steve Lewis delivers a modern take on classic guitar-rock sounds with his latest album, Creepers & Vines. Each of the eleven songs on the record are mix of blues and rock with elements of pop, psychedelic and folk.

The lead single, “Seven Little Drops of Rain” opens with a pounding drum and acoustic strum that is reminiscent of the 1980s “college rock” sound, which, combined with Lewis’ smooth vocal melody, makes for an original and quirky, yet familiar and inviting song.

Tracks like “Personal Hell” and “Off This Rock” sound like straight up rockers on the surface, but a closer listen reveals the myriad of influences on Lewis’ songwriting, including Freddie Mercury-like vocal harmonies and 60s surf guitar leads.

Slower, more acoustic-based tunes like “The Morning After” and “Open Your Eyes” show us Lewis’ darker, quieter side, reincarnating the 70s singer/songwriter folk vibes of Cat Stevens and CSNY.

Creepers & Vines is a solid album and must-listen for fans of the indie and blues rock sounds that have been brewing in Nashville for the past few years.




Track List:

  1. Off This Rock

  2. Seven Little Drops of Rain

  3. Mix It Up

  4. Hard Bargain

  5. Ohio

  6. Open Your Eyes

  7. Personal Hell

  8. Baby’s On It

  9. Big Secret Plan

  10. Movin’ To France

  11. The Morning After


Sep 18 The Crying Wolf – Nashville, TN
Sep 26 The Stillwater Pub – Birmingham, AL
(more dates to be announced soon)
Jason Robey
Jason has a deep relationship with music, as a performing musician, avid concert-goer and professional audio engineer. He has a passion for the local Phoenix music scene, as well as indie music from all over. He also enjoys writing, photography and anything that can make him laugh. Instagram: yitbos69 Twitter